Five facts: The future of Schengen Zone

Bharat Bhushan @Bharatitis

In view of the massive influx of refugees from West Asia and elsewhere, Europe is debating on the future of passport-free travel in the Schengen zone.

Six of the 26-member Schengen zone of the European Union have already introduced temporary border controls and there are moves afoot to prolong border controls for up to two years.

Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Norway, and Sweden have already put in place strict border controls for the next six months. Between them, Germany, Austria and Sweden have accepted 90 per cent of the one million plus refugees who have arrived in Europe.

At the same time, Hungary has fenced off its borders with Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia.

The European Commission has said that it could agree to a suspension of border-free travel in the Schengen zone for up to two years. A decision on extending border controls is likely to take place latest by May of this year.

Could the Schengen zone shrink and what could this do to the idea of Europe?

More in Catch:

Five facts: Why are oil prices falling?

Watch: Modi's 'Neighbourhood First' didn't live up to its potential in 2015

Watch: #BiharResult is a political watershed. Here's why

#IndiaAfricaSummit could be a game changer. Here's why

Act East: Why the Kaladan Transit Project matters

Bharat  Bhushan

Bharat Bhushan @Bharatitis